I hate headaches…

February 5, 2009 at 4:47 am (Uncategorized)

As a student we all have stress, anxiety and just plan old headaches. Try having chronic migraines as a college student. I woke up with one today and still had to go school. Going to TCC, I really didn’t have as big of a stress level because there’s only so much you can stress about, ya know? These two semesters-coming in as a freshman/junior- the adjustment has played a tole with my headaches.

I have been diagnosed with chronic migraines for about 3 years. It might be 4 years now, anyways, it has been such a distraction to my every day life. I use to get into so much trouble at work when I would tell my boss I needed to leave early because I was getting a migraine. She’d be like..and you can’t work? NOPE. I can’t do poop when I get them. So at least when I was at work I could control staying and going. As for school, it’s hard, let me tell ya.

This morning I woke up thinking I was going to get so much done…that was a negative. The medicine I am now on is Zomig and Imitrex. I’ve tried at least five different kinds of drugs…even botox. That actually worked, but was 3,000 dollars an injection, so that didn’t  last long. I’m sure all of ya’ll have heard of Imitrex, surprisingly it’s pretty legit. But the Zomig makes me feel hungover. Once I take it, I’m gone. I end up throwing up and not eating the whole day because of how strong that stuff is. I left school early today because I just couldn’t take it. I was very disappointed when I had to take it this morning. I wanted to do something with my life today but sometimes it’s not up to you, it’s up to the migraine.

Juggling school and migraines sucks. If you have migraines feel free to hit me up and we can vent about how painful these things are. And if you have any suggestions of how you handle it, please tell me. For those who don’t have migraines…you’re lucky.

Leave a Reply

